Thursday, October 11, 2012

Love Languages

If you only speak English and someone told you "I love you" in Afrikaans, you would not understand. You may even accuse the person that they don't love you. Eventually the person will also become frustrated because they are constantly reassuring you of their love, but you have not accepted it. The premise is that people communicate in one of the five love languages (in order of my most fluent languages):

  1. Quality Time
  2. Physical Touch
  3. Words of Affirmation
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Receiving Gifts
If I love you, I want to spend as much time with you as possible ~ this has to be quality time though, if I spend an hour with you and you are on the phone for 40 minutes of that time, that is not exactly my idea of quality time. Maybe that's why I am not a big fan of social networks. I much rather the personal expression through a personalized email, card or time spent in each other's presence. 

My friend's know how important quality time is to me and try to keep my proverbial love tank filled. I was talking to Daniel and he said "your correspondence/emails are like car notes or mortgages; you have to keep updated to avoid repossession." "The point is" ~ fill me up

No comments:

Post a Comment